Europeans hold national road championships

Just before the Tour de France every year, European countries hold their national road racing championships. At the tour the winners of those races proudly wear the colors of the national champion of their country. It not only makes it easier to spot these riders, but makes for a more colorful event.
Here are the results:
Germany: Fabian Wegmann (Gerolsteiner)
Belgium: Jurgen Roelandts (Silence-Lotto)
Luxembourg: Frank Schleck
Estonia: Jaan Kirsipuu (CFC Sport Club)
Denmark: Nicki Sorensen (CSC)
Spain: Alejandro Valverde (Caisse d’Epargne)
France: Nicolas Vogondy (Agritubel)
Italy: Filippo Simeoni (Flaminia)
Kazakhstan: Assan Bazayev (Astana)
Netherlands: Lars Boom (Rabobank)
Russia: Sergey Ivanov (Astana)
Switzerland: Markus Zberg (Gerolsteiner)
Portugal: Joao Cabreira (LA-MSS)
Poland: Marcin Sapa (DHL Author)
Latvia: Normunds Lasis (Dynatek Latvija)
Norway: Kurt-Asle Arvesen
Sadly only Valverde, Vogondy, Wegmann, Arvesen Schleck and Sorensen on this list will be competing in this year’s TdF. Kurt-Asle Arvesen.
The US National Road Race Championships won’t be held until August 8th in Greenville, SC.

Leave a Reply