14 September 2004Tech Stuff
Another eBay Scam?

I just got this email from someone claiming to be from eBay:

Dear eBay Customer,

You have received this email, because we have indicate that someone
had used your eBay account more than fifteen times today from different hostnames:

ool-43500aa7.dyn.optonline.net
061238117002.ctinets.com
r50h4.dixie-net.com
bgp477700bgs.summit01.nj.comcast.net
ip67-153-93-156.z93-153-67.customer.algx.net

In this way we have only to think that your account password is stolen.
We have delete your payment information (Card on File) for your security reasons.

Please follow the link below and login to our system to change your password.

http://signin.ebay.com/ws2/eBayISAPI.dll?SignIn&ssPageName=h:h:sin:US

If you think that is a normal for your account, please disregard this message.

Regards,
Kathrine Smith,
eBay Inc.


Could this true? Sure, why not. Stranger things have happened to my account. The email address is from eBay. The link seems to be from eBay. Yet, I sense scam. Maybe it's the "We have delete your payment information (Card on File) for your security reasons." The message and grammar are both disturning. eBay would never send an email like that, would they?

Curious, I clicked on the link. It asks me to login. I do. Then there's a page that asks for, amongst other things, a credit card number and my social security number. I don't remember giving eBay my SSN, but I signed up a long time ago. I closed the window. Opened eBay.com. and changed my password immediately. It's insane that I have to do this every few weeks, but I have to because my virtual identity is at risk because of problems with eBay security.

Then I decided to call eBay (Phone: (408) 376-7400). They don't have anyone by that name listed. The email is a "spoof". You just have to shake your head.

Posted by andrew at September 14, 2004 03:00 PM


Comments

JenBen Says:

any time it says "dear eBay Customer" it's a scam. If it were really meant for you it would have your first and last name on it. Just FYI

September 19, 2004 10:29 AM
Andrew Says:

good point

September 19, 2004 05:00 PM
john Stirling Says:

A warning about JOHN STIRLING an EBAY USER called ULTIMATE.COLLECTABLES, COLLECTORS.HAVEN orCOLLECTABLE.MERCHANDISE Read on, if you have done so already you will be sorry you dealt with this scammer!

Its all true, any authority will vouch for this. This is the truth about the manager of the website http://www.sarahjane.com.au THE OFFICIAL SARAH JANE WEBSITE (she is a bikini model who scams charities ..such is SARAH JANE the CHIKO gorl who is now in INDONESIA RUNNING FROM TAX OFFICERS! and the website www.stunningblonde.com that provides publicity for Sarah Jane, the Year 2000 "Chiko Roll Girl" and sells to people using ebay as stunning.blonde., oh sorry another name change he is now ultimate.collectables. trustworthy guy you see. running from the TAX DEPT but no need to worry we have the info and we will GIVE IT TO THEM AND HAVE HIM STRING OUT TO DRY!

The Promotors name is Enzo Folchini, although he commonly calls himself "John Stirling" of Stirling Entertainment, the "Official Agent for Sarah Jane".

Folchini has been accused and investigated on fraud and deception allegations. He has been involved in a long running dispute with property owners at a block of flats in Kew Melbourne Australia ver the way he ran of his business of selling DVD material and other merchandise from the flats - items sold over internet site eBay. He was also selling illegally copied videos the same way.

Channel 10 and Southern Cross Broadcasting were notified of sales of tapes using their name to sell product apparently without their permission. He has misused Warner Brothers name in the same way. For proof of who he is http://www.asic.gov.au and see folchini listed as stunning blonde! and the ebay seller stunning.blonde, it is him as the business of STUNNING BLONDE is legally registered to JOHN STIRLING/FOLCHINI. It is registered with ASIC under HIS NAME. The Australian Film and Video Security Office have investigated him in 2001 for a similar breach. He is still under their scrutiny. Folchini is manager of the Sarah Jane website http://www.sarahjane.com.au and ran it from the apartment at 83 Wills St Kew Victoria, from where he has since been evicted from.

He was also in possession of up to 15 unregistered NISSAN BLUEBIRD vehicles which were frequently driven, renovated and parked at the apts.

The Boroondara Council in Kew were investigating his business activity and illegal (on the street) car restoration business which includes two companies, Stirling Entertainment and Stunning Blonde, (also run under different assumed names). Folchini was responsible for linking Sarah Janes soft-porn website with the Salvation Army's website without permission, later they requested removal of the link.

In 2002 as a reaction to complaints by owners about his activities, he stole residents mail, went through their rubbish and gained enough personal information about a resident to change their name with the Victorian Electoral Office to an obscene surname "Kunt".

In December 2002 these actions led to Mr Folchini being served by Heidelberg Magistrates Court Melbourne Australia with a 12 month Intervention Order for his stalking activities and threats to property owners.

The recent Court summons he was issued with relates to a case where complimentary (that is free) packaging items from a courier company were left blocking access to other property owners, which Folchini then accused a resident of removing from the common property stairwell at the rented flats he lived at, and then used a professional collection agent Freeman Marshall (now bankrupt) to forcefully and fraudulently recover almost $500 from a resident using his company name of Stirling Entertainment.

FOLCHINI is GUILTY of Fraud and Financial Gain by Deception. His defence of this action was lodged at the Magistrates Court using his Kew address even though he had already been moved out of the address for over 2 weeks.

The point of this communication to you is to show that what really sickening is that he promotes Sarah Jane as a charity figure who helps those in need. And he involves legitimate charities such as The Salvation Army purely so he can get publicity for his own gains.

However those who own property who are affected by this man's actions are threatened and victimised when they complain about him. Despite the positive self generated publicity from Sarah Jane, the management behind this person are nothing short of contemptable criminals, and, judging by the press and television media's reaction to this information now that is being released to the public, being associated with Sarah Janes corrupt publicity machine may not prove to be to anyone's advantage. Nor the criminal JOHN ?ENZO posing as seller COLLECTORS.HAVEN and COLLECTABLE.MERCHANDISE And his mom who lives at 10 STIRLING ST KEW VICTORIA AUSTRALIA will die of fear as we divulge all about her mouldy life and his underworld work. And no one connected to JOHN ENZO FOLCHINI STIRLING is now safe, ever. Justice will be done. FOLCHINI OWES MONEY HE NO PAY HE WILL PRAY HE SEES THE END DAY!

March 7, 2005 04:20 PM
Andrew Writes:

um, thanks?

March 7, 2005 04:26 PM




Remember me?

(You may use HTML tags for style)

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.americanidle.org/MT/mt-tb.cgi/796

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference:
'Another eBay Scam?'.